S.E.C. Registration: 0-22216


Vancouver, British Columbia, May 30, 2000:

The Company is pleased to report the election of the following people to the Board of Directors of Canadian Zinc Corporation at the AGM held on the 25th of May, 2000.

Mr. Malcolm Swallow C.Eng., FIMM., has been appointed as President and CEO of the Company. Mr. Swallow leaves Imperial Metals Corporation, where he occupied the position of Vice President Development, responsible for all in house project development for IMC. While at IMC, he acted as Project Manager during the successful construction of the Mount Polley open pit mine and concentrator in Central BC. Mr. Swallow is a graduate mining engineer with some 30 years of experience in the mining industry. His new duties concentrate on the development of the Prairie Creek mine including evaluation, scoping and feasibility studies and directing the overall development and operation of the Company.

Dr. Robert Gayton, CA, PhD (Business) has been appointed as Vice President Finance and CFO. He brings to the Company many years of fiscal management of minerals companies and currently holds similar posts and directorships with a number of other Vancouver based companies.

Mr. John MacPherson has accepted the post of Chairman for Canadian Zinc. Mr. MacPherson brings more than 30 years of experience in publicly listed companies to the post and will be responsible for Investor Relations and assist with Corporate Finance for the Company.

Dr. Hugh Morris, P.Eng. PhD (Mining Geology) will call on his 47 years of industry experience to help guide the Company's technical development. Dr. Morris is known throughout the industry for his scientific and technical contributions and is currently Chairman of Eldorado Gold and Winspear Resources and a director of three other Canadian Companies.

Mr. Wayne Lenton, P.Eng. brings his strong metallurgical background and experience of operating in the North to the Company. He has over 30 years of experience in the industry including periods as President of AMAX of Canada Ltd, Chairman of the Board of Minerex Resources and President and CEO of Canada Tungsten Mining Corporation. He is currently working as an independent consultant and is a director of several other public companies.

Dr. David Shaw, PhD. (Structural Geology) will form part of the company's technical committee directing the exploration and development efforts of the Company. He has spent the last 22 years in the industry as a structural consultant, and as a corporate financial analyst. He has worked extensively in South America, Africa, South East Asia and Kazakhstan and brings significant breadth to the Company's exploration efforts.

The Company wishes to take this opportunity to thank the outgoing Board for their efforts on the Company's behalf and most especially Mr. Tony Millar, past Chairman and Alan Taylor, past President for their commitment and dedication to the Company and the Prairie Creek mine. Mr. Taylor will remain with the company and has accepted the position of Manager of Exploration.

On behalf of the Board of Directors


Malcolm Swallow, President & CEO (CANADA):(604) 688-2001
Website www.canadianzinc.com